Skip to content

A question of accountability

August 6, 2010

David Cariens puts the Virginia Tech tragedy and the resulting political aftermath in a different perspective.  Many friends and family members of the victims have become strong private firearm ownership opponents, or at the very least want to close what is referred to as “the gun show loophole” as a result of the tragedy.  In my opinion they should focus more on the administration’s inaction regarding Cho prior to his going postal.  It’s easier however to blame gun ownership then to take on Virginia Tech administration.

Personally I tend to agree with Mr. Cariens.  I believe there were warning signs regarding Cho, and Tech administration chose to overlook them.  The problem being not one of firearms ownership, but administration irresponsibility:

http://aquestionofaccountability.blogspot.com/

As an additional sidenote, as a private investigator I do a fair amount of what is referred to as “process serving.”  That fateful morning of April 16th I had a “subpeona duces tecum” (court order for written records) to serve on the Virginia Tech bursar’s office I believe.  I can’t remember for sure, but I think it was the bursar’s office.  In any event, it was a pretty standard subpeona, from time to time in civil suits such demands for records and transcripts occur.  Perhaps a former student had made an error in judgement somewhere and the opposing attorney wanted to review his/her transcript.  I don’t know. 

 What I do remember is that I also had a less formal, more likely confrontational service of process to perform in Radford which fell under the category of “rush” service.  A rush service generally demands a higher fee, and take priority (thus the descriptive label).  Out of respect for  or perhaps concern of Virginia Tech’s anti-firearm policy, I didn’t go to Tech that morning.  I felt the more pressing Radford assignment would be best undertaken with a legally concealed firearm.  Now there is no way to know I would of been as they say “in the right place at the right time,” but being of a fairly inquisitive nature it’s likely I would of taken notice of Cho, dressed that way and carrying those large chains  he later used to secure the doors to Norris Hall.  I have no doubt that if I had heard screams of victims and gunfire in my vicinity, I would of put myself at risk to stop the bloodbath.  Does that make me something special?  Probably not, I’m sure many people feel the same way.  The only difference is that as someone professionally trained as an armed security officer…someone rather accurate with a firearm perhaps I could of made a difference… there’s just no way to know.

Does that mean I think that student’s should be allowed to carry on campus?  There are too many variables in that equation for me to handle.  I’ll have to leave that question for others to debate.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

