Skip to content

“Another Drinking Hokie”

September 28, 2010

Unfortunately since Mr. Bednar apparently graduated (Class of ’09), he is outside the grasp of Virginia Tech’s student code of conduct.

Even so, I find this facebook group  in very poor taste in light of the recent tragedy.  Perhaps an employee at Virginia Tech monitors my blog, and will make a request of Mr. Bednar to remove  it.   I’m confident I could locate him, but perhaps I should appreciate his page.  It certainly helps support my arguments regarding the off campus drinking parties.

http://www.facebook.com/#!/group.php?gid=2200468004

Residents of Blacksburg, administration of Tech:  Please, do somethingVirginia Polytechnic Institute has had enough death and suffering associated with it over the past three years to cover the next thirty.  You want me to drop the topic?  Good.  Address it yourselves so I don’t have to.  I’m aware that VT football brings money to the community, as does the tailgating parties.  Know what?  Some things remain immoral to place a dollar sign on, things such as a human life.   Has VT decided to become a drunken Roman Collosseum, or is it still a respected institution of higher learning?

The problem is not insurmountable, but it’s real.  No one is saying that adult students shouldn’t have access to a few beers.  Whats happening is that the younger students, primarily the 18 and 19 year olds are far away from their Northern Virginia parents, and pushing experimental drinking far beyond safe limits.

A message to Hokie Parents:  Pressure the university to address the problem and enforce this code of conduct they keep talking about.  You don’t have to like me, apparently I’m a “anti-tech activist” (according to one email).  You don’t even have to believe me.  You do however have both a responsibility and a need to learn for yourselves.  What exactly is taking place in Blacksburg?   The situation is  unacceptable, unsafe,  and sometimes… it claims lives.  I’m sure you don’t want it to be your loved one stabbed during a fight, or laying unconcious on the pavement.

-Bulldog

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

