Skip to content

BulldogPI’s response to a Northern Virginia ‘process serve’ inquiry.

February 7, 2012

I recieved an inquiry from someone at your firm (Vickie?)  this morning regarding a process serve in Christiansburg.  Although I appreciate inquires and possible business, I was able to read through the lines in regards to the communication that occurred.

Let’s be very clear:

1. Skip-tracing is not process serving. The client is responsible to provide me with the correct address for the recipient.  I got the impression that the solidity of the address in question is questionable.

2. In my opinion $65.00 dollars to perform a service of process  on someone residing in Christiansburg VA is a pretty reasonable fee. That fee does not include skip-tracing.

(Skip-tracing: The art of locating someone who has relocated, or in essence, has taken other measures to avoid being located.)

3. Like you, I’m a private investigator, and the compliance agent for my firm.

Generally speaking, I don’t like to subcontract for process serving assignments.  It typically results in misunderstandings, unverified information, and headaches.  Frankly, it’s not worth it.

4. I don’t hold back much.  I realize that I come across as strong willed, stubborn, and opinionated. I’m also the most determined, persistent, and ‘hard-core’ investigator/process server in the New River Valley.  Please don’t take my word for it, make some inquiries regarding who (and how) I am.

5. This is not a popularity contest.  This is a business. Your organization is based in northern Virginia (per the reverse search on the inquiry phone number: 703-xxx-xxxx)  I’m confident your firm is reselling services, and making a good profit margin by doing so. 

Frankly, it’s quite frustrating to me that Northern Virginia attorneys don’t, generally speaking, have the where-with-all to locate process servers in their areas of need.  Instead they enlist the help of  process serving clearing houses (which then subcontract, or re-sell, the assignment.  What an inefficient and ineffective way to conduct business.  Approaching things in this manner  muddies the lines of communication, and increases the expense  of  accomplishing the task at hand to their client. 

 Everyone wants compensation for their efforts: the law firm, your company, and of course yours truly.  Some of us just happen to  put more effort in then others.

 Best of luck to you and your organization.  I respectfully feel it’s in my best interest to decline the assignment as a subcontractor. 

In the likely event that the process serve is not completed to your client’s satisfaction, I’m willing to deal with the client directly and pay your organization a 25% referral fee.  Other then that arrangement,  I’m not interested. 

Sincerely,

James Pollock

Pollock’s Process Serving

www.pollockserve.com

Bulldog Investigations

www.bulldogpi.net

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

